/ 2017 / Nature / Sky

Nacreous Clouds

Nacreous clouds or polar stratospheric clouds. On the last day
of the year those clouds could be seen on the Lofoten islands in
northern Norway. These clouds are characterized by a strong
iridescence. Their height is determined at about 15-25 km,
where the temperature is -80 degrees Celsius. Clouds are
formed with a small amount of water vapor that leaked to the
upper parts of the atmosphere. The droplets are much smaller
than those that typical building clouds. 
They scatter the light differently, that is why the color of the
clouds reminds rainbow. Those clouds occur very rarely.

Bartlomiej Jurecki is a graduate of the Cracow School of Art and the State Higher School of Film, Television and Theatre in Lodz, where he earned his Master of Photography. He works for biggest local polish newspaper Tygodnik Podhalanski.

Awards Pictures of the Year International, NPPA Best of Photojournalism, Black & White Spider Awards (2X), Insight Astronomy Photographer of the Year, Vincent Van Gogh Photo Award, Grand Press Photo (6X), BZ WBK Press Photo (8X), Leica Street Photo (2X), Px3 Prix de la Photographie Paris, IPA International Photography Awards (14X), National Geographic Poland (3X), SGL Local Press (4X), Journalist of a year 2014 of Lesser Poland Voivodeship, National Geographic Traveler Photo Contest, Kuwait Grand Photography Contest (2X), PCOI - CHIIZ Photography Club of India, Life Framer, dotART Urban International Photo Contest, Photojournalist of the year 2015, 2017 (2X) (Association of Photographers in Poland), FEP European Professional Photographer of the Year (2X), Event Photography Awards (3X), Siena International Photography Awards (2X), Polish Sport Photography Award.

Finalist of following competitions: Weather Photographer of the Year, Hamdan International Photography Awards (HIPA), StreetFoto San Francisco, Malta International Photo Award, International Mountain Summit Photo Contest, Travel Photographer of the Year, Press Photo of the Year (2X), Memorial Maria Luisa, Erazm Ciolek and Eugeniusz Lokajski competition organized by the Association of Polish Journalists.